Technical sessions, Monday morning, 24 October 2016°

L.M. Millera

Texas A&M AgriLife Extension, Tarrant County, 200 Taylor Street, Suite 500, Fort Worth, Texas 76196-0123, USA.

The 41st Annual Meeting of the International Plant Propagators' Society-Southern Region of North America convened at 7:30 am at the Westin, Virginia Beach Town Center, Virginia Beach, Virginia with President Laura Miller presiding.

PRESIDENT LAURA M. MILLER

President Miller welcomed everyone to Virginia Beach, Virginia for the 41st Annual Meeting of the International Plant Propagators' Society-Southern Region of North America. She thanked Local Site Committee Co-Chairs, Matt Sawyer and Jim Owen, and their committee and volunteers for the long hours in arranging the excellent tours, hotel, other planning activities and all their attention to detail. She welcomed students, first time attendees and new members, asking them to stand and be recognized. Miller thanked the Executive Committee, and Dave Creech's Sponsorship Committee, which raised \$33,500 in cash sponsorships, plus \$15,000 in-kind sponsorship - which was outstanding. Miller encouraged the membership to visit and show their support of our sponsors during the meeting. She encouraged all members to make new members and first-time attendees feel welcome—share with them and seek from them. She called for good questions and enthusiastic participation at the Tuesday night question box.

Miller announced that this is the fourth year our region has participated with the European Region (Great Britain & Ireland) in the *Early-Career Propagator Exchange* program between the two regions. She recognized Lance Russell from Great Britain (European Region), who was hosted by Brie Arthur and the SRNA. Leanne Kenealy of the Southern Region of North America was our designee to the European Region. Both of these early-career professionals had an incredible exchange experience in our respective regions. This is the fifth year we are doing the *Vivian Munday Young Horticultural Professional Scholarship Work Program (Vivian Munday Scholarship)*. We currently have four young professionals: Judson LeCompte (Mississippi State University), Shea Keene (University of Florida), Crystal Connor (University of Florida), and Debaline Saha (University of Florida) who are making a strong contribution to this year's program. Miller thanked Program Chair and 1st Vice-President, Kevin Gantt, for the excellent program and slate of speakers he assembled.

PROGRAM CHAIR KEVIN

Program Chair Kevin Gantt welcomed all members, guests and students. He thanked the membership for the opportunity to serve them, and then reviewed the scheduled program. The Question Box, scheduled for Tuesday evening, was to be co-chaired by Laura Miller and Kevin Gantt. He then introduced the first moderator, Alex Neubaur.

^aE-mail: LMMiller@ag.tamu.edu