Jeff Elliott, 2017 recipient of the Award of Merit

The IPPS New Zealand Regions highest award for all round meritorious service.


  • Meritorious service to the IPPS New Zealand Region.
  • Meritorious service to New Zealand Horticulture.
  • Must be an active member of the IPPS New Zealand Region at the time the award is presented.


  • The award is only to be presented when there is a suitable recipient.
  • No more than one award is to be presented per year.

Selection panel:
The selection panel should be made up of three people including the current president, 2nd vice president and one other with a long association with the IPPS New Zealand Region, ideally the historian or secretary or treasurer. Selection should be made after informal consultation with the membership.

Presentation of the award should be made at the IPPS New Zealand Regions conference and should consist of a wooden bowl, which can be kept by the recipient until a new recipient has been named, and a plaque which will become the property of the recipient.

Award of Merit Recipients
Graeme Platt1994 Rotorua Conference
Eddie Welsh1995Christchurch Conference
Terry Hatch1996Auckland Conference
Noel McMillan1998Napier Conference
Jan Velvin2001Hamilton Conference
Dennis Hughes2004Christchurch Conference
John Follett2005Tauranga Conference
Malcolm Woolmore 2006Dunedin Conference
Jim Rumbal2007New Plymouth Conference
Ellaby Martin2008Auckland Conference
Ken Davey2009Hobart Conference
Richard Ware2010Blenheim Conference
Terry Hatch2011Napier Conference
Shirley Ogilvy2012Cromwell Conference
Ray Lawson2013Taupo Conference
Ian Duncalf2014Wellington Conference
Eric Appleton2015Nelson Conference
Jeff Elliott2017Pukekohe Conference